top of page
Search

5 years on

I'm reflecting on where I was this evening five years ago, on a plane on my way to Kathmandu. With no idea of what lay ahead, the only certainties I had were the love and support of my family, my faith, and my unwavering commitment to my goals and dreams. I’ve come this far, and I’m determined not to miss out on what I’ve set out to achieve.


After a challenging 15-day trek to Everest Base Camp, despite significant health obstacles, my eyes were fixed on Everest. I remember the overwhelming sense of accomplishment, thinking, “I made it"!


During my 3 day descent to Lukla after reaching Base Camp, I had time to reflect on what I had just accomplished and on the past year during which I transformed my body and defied the odds despite having hypermobility Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (hEDS) and POTS. Through a year of preparation, focusing on strengthening my muscles to prevent potential dislocations, and ultimately reaching the summit, I learned numerous life lessons, with four standing out the most.

  1. Never underestimate my own strength and willpower.

  2. Fully embrace living in the moment.

  3. Understand that this achievement is just the beginning of something much greater. (Something I couldn’t foresee at the time).

  4. And always keep a bucketload of faith and not just a bucket list!


Reflecting on my journey, I realise the tough moments built my resilience and faith, undoubtedly. But this experience led to something far greater, though at the time, all I could do was marvel at my achievement. The following year was probably my lowest point. I found myself asking, “What now? What’s next?” After 12 months of support from a trainer, frequent doctor check-ups and intense training, it was all over and at the time, my body finally had enough and just gave in.


Looking back, I wish I had known that a challenge of such magnitude wasn’t the end, but merely the beginning. It took me three years to realise that, even though my body can’t handle another challenge like this (right now 😉), there’s so much I learned from the experience. This understanding has been instrumental in discovering my passions and helped me figure out what I love doing, which eventually led to starting my own company, Zebra Adventures.


Your accomplishments do not define you, while it's important to acknowledge and celebrate your achievements, you should not base your self-worth on them. Never underestimate your strength and resilience. Live in the moment and remember that the one achievement you work so hard for, is only a milestone in your journey of growth and self-discovery, laying the groundwork for even greater things ahead.  




32 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page