top of page
Search

Chapter 10: Weigh-in #6. We all have a story.

Have you even walked down the road and wondered what goes on behind someone else’s front door? What circumstances they face. What their life is like. Regardless of my circumstances, being thankful in the midst of it all changed my outlook and even when I don’t feel that way, I start off by naming one thing I’m thankful for.


This week reminded me of eleven years ago when I sat in the majestic Royal Albert Hall, listening to a speaker called Christine Cane. Little did I know that her words would be the words that would give me hope just one day later when I faced loss myself.


Christine talked about being thankful regardless of your circumstances. She stopped halfway through to share her very own personal story. When she was around 4 months pregnant she went for a routine scan only to find out that there was no foetal heartbeat, she had lost her unborn child. Understandably devastated sitting outside the hospital crying, she realised that she has two choices – to be defined by her circumstances OR to choose life and a future despite her circumstances, to choose to move forward, have hope and faith. Then the profound bit… while still crying and in despair she started naming things she was thankful for.


I learnt that this is easier said than done, but from that day on, in the midst of my turmoil and suffering, I choose life and verbally name what I am thankful for regardless of my circumstances. It is the first step towards my inner healing, getting better and believing there is hope, healing and life!


We all have a story and you may think that yours isn’t very profound, but you never know who is meant to hear your story. You can change someone’s life with your story by being honest and open about your journey. Be brave – it may just be the encouragement someone needs to change their life.


I choose life in abundance. I choose to believe. I am thankful for being alive and for what I am entrusted with. I have a story to tell, so do you.


Starting weight: 67.4kg


Today's weight: 61.8kg (last week 63.6) -1.8kg


Total weight-loss 5.6kg


BMI: 23.2

(last week 23.9)


Body Fat (kg): 19.5kg

(last week 21.0kg)


Centimetres lost 6.8cm

Centimetres lost in total: 27.8cm

Goal: 60kg

322 days till bucketlist challenge - watch this space...



80 views0 comments
bottom of page