top of page
Search

Chapter 13: My dream becomes reality...

Updated: Aug 4, 2019


It has always been my childhood dream to see Everest with my own eyes. I have read books, seen every possible movie and bought the t-shirt. Reading Bear Grylls’ book ‘Facing Up’ many years ago, I remember telling myself “one day, one day I will see Everest for myself”.


The mountains stole my heart.


Growing up, one of my favourite things was to go to church on a Sunday evening. I loved sitting in a particular spot close to the door, where I could see the sunset. The colours were so beautiful as the rays fell on my lap from behind the trees. It was then, as a little girl aged six, when I heard this for the very first time:


“I look up to the mountains, where does my strength come from? Does my strength come from the mountains? No, my strength comes from God who made heaven, earth, and the mountains.”

Psalm 121


I remember how this verse took me on numerous adventures, it still does. In my six-year-old mind I thought- “if God can make mountains, and He made the earth, how amazing is it then that if I need strength or help, He will help me, because a mountain is huge, and the earth is even bigger, and I am a tiny little girl. How much more will he help me as his child.“


Every time I go to Chamonix, I stare at Mt Blanc, sometimes for hours, in awe of its’ beauty and magnificence. I can still remember the overwhelming feeling when I saw Mt Blanc for the very first time. I’ve seen the Alps from various countries but this was different. I found myself trying to imagine Everest. If Mt Blanc is 4,810m, and Base Camp is 5,380m, then Everest is almost twice the height of Mt Blanc, at 8,848m. The desire to stand on Base Camp on the foothills of Everest, has always been there and kept on growing!


I finally get to make my dream come true, Basecamp here I come! I know that this hike will be an enormous challenge for me. With my joints and my arteries not always good team-players, it’s a potentially risky hike. I have been told many times in my life you can’t do this or you can’t do that, my reply, “I’ll show you I can”. I read about soldiers returning from Iraq with both legs amputated and they summit Everest – respect! Where there is a will, there is a way.


All of us have a mountain in our lives. You know what I’m talking about – you know your mountain. I sure know mine. The mountain is not going to move, pick itself up and tippy toe out of the way. I’m facing my mountain right now and I’m heading straight for it. I’m on my journey – I lost some weight, I’m getting fitter and looking after myself, I love my body regardless of the stunts it pulls on me some days. I fall, I bleed, I hurt myself in the process, but I get up in faith, knowing I am climbing to reach my goal. Step by step. I am standing up for all those times I couldn’t face things or I just didn’t have the strength and just accepted defeat. In my case, I look up to my mountain - my challenge, and my strength comes from the One who made the mountains, who made me and knows me inside out. Nothing is going to stop me – not joint pain, not VAD’s not EDS as I’m not doing this alone!


Over the following weeks and months, I will update you on my journey, share with you why I chose to do my challenge with Travel Her Way and the awesome work they do in Nepal.


My GoFundMe page is now life (since 4 May). If you want to get onboard and follow me on the journey and you feel that you want make a donation to me personally, please click on the link and follow the easy steps.


I will also ask you to help me spread the word and bring awareness to EDS by supporting EDS Support UK. But more of that over the next few weeks.

My JustGiving page is now life if you want to donate towards EDS Support UK.


And lastly, the 4 winners of a memorable souvenir all the way from Nepal are:

*Henry Verster

*Gergana McDougall

*Nicole Cohen-Wray

*Kathryn Wrennall


296 days till I leave for Kathmandu to trek Everest Base Camp


327 views0 comments
bottom of page