top of page
Search

Little did I know...

As a young girl, I was often asked: “What do you want to be when you grow up?” And as an adult, I am asked: “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?” I could never really answer that, except to say I knew what my strengths and weaknesses are to some extent. Six years ago, I went through a period of wondering, "What comes next?" and asking, “Where do I see myself in 5 years?” I couldn't even predict where I'd be in two months because my life felt like it was on autopilot, just going with the flow, I guess. At the same time, I was constantly struggling with serious health issues.

On 1 October 2017, I visited Chamonix, France with my friends. While they ventured to the top of Aiguille du Midi, I chose to stay at the lower end, seeking some much-needed "me-time." It was during this moment that I captured this photo, fixated on Mt. Blanc in front of me, filled with awe at its sheer size and the curiosity of what lay beyond. Mountains had always held a special fascination for me, and that day was a "wow" moment in the mountains…and in my life.

Introspection can sometimes be a kick in the butt. The thought of ‘follow your dreams’ came up while I was lying there. I know my dreams, but my ongoing challenge has always been how to turn them into reality because, to be honest, some of them scare the living daylights out of me. Sometimes, things get worse before they get better, and the following year proved to be a tough one in many ways.

Fast forward exactly 12 months from that day, and I finally got my Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome diagnosis, after 12 years of conducting my own research, enduring misdiagnoses, and unnecessary medical treatments. Jump ahead another 24 months from when I took this photo, and I was packed and ready to embark on the most significant challenge I had ever set for myself, little did I know how much this would be a foundation for what’s to come. Everest Base Camp here I come!

Over the next 15 days, I'd like to invite you on a journey as I revisit my adventure to Everest Base Camp. By sharing my experience, my aim is to inspire you, demonstrating that you possess a distinctive story to share and the capacity to accomplish what may seem impossible (even if it scares the living daylights out of you) . Keep an eye out for tomorrow's update.


Photo: Plan de l'Aiguille, Chamonix, France (a piece of heaven)



See Insights and Ads Boost post

All reactions: 11

20 views0 comments
bottom of page