top of page
Search

Mental Health - (skip the blog)

Updated: Apr 22, 2021

Many people don't read a post when they see the words “Mental Health”. Many feel that it is

not applicable to them and some may just see it as an embarrassment to entertain the idea that they may struggle with mental health.


My physical health has a big impact on how I am feeling emotionally and mentally. At times during this pandemic, I find it particular challenging. It is easy to fall into unhealthy patterns of behaviour which, in turn, makes me feel worse. Trying to eat healthy, well-balanced meals and

drink enough water during lockdown in winter, where all I can think about is comfort food and Oreos.


From experience I know that doing exercise and other physical activity can have a positive impact on my mood, improve my sleep, and reduce stress and anxiety. In the past 2 years I fell in love with hiking and explore new areas while walking with a friend. Being outdoors makes me feel over all healthy.


During lockdown my daily routine flew out of the window. Like for many, I changed my jeans and hiking clothes for humble tracksuit bottoms and my normal “going to bed” time, well, it became later and later because tomorrow will be the same as today. Feeling anxious or worried can make it harder to get a good night’s sleep and a good night’s sleep, makes a big difference to how I feel mentally and physically.


We may find the news about COVID-19 concerning. However, some of us may experience such intense anxiety that it becomes a problem. Try to focus on the things you can control, such as managing your media and information intake – 24-hour news and constant social media updates can make you feel more worried. We don’t always realise, but our children understand and observe more than what we think, and having 24-hour media updates about Covid can trigger unnecessary anxiety for them. Try to limit the time you spend watching, reading, or listening to media coverage of the pandemic. It may help to only check the news at set times or limiting yourself to checking a couple of times a day.


Setting goals and achieving them always gives me a sense of control and purpose. I think about things I want or need to do, particularly those that I can do at home, such as baking with the family, reading a book or learning something online. If you know me, I’m not a big reader, but I will watch the Netflix version of the book . This can help with difficult emotions and generally make me feel better. Relaxation techniques can also help to deal with feelings of anxiety. There are so many available to download to suit your own need, I particularly love Calm and Abide App.


There is light at the end of the tunnel. Lets look after ourselves and prioritise what is important. Lets evaluate our mental state and take care of ourself physically and equally important - mentally. Love yourself because you are a bad ass - stop doubting your greatness!







26 views0 comments
bottom of page